San Patricio County Retired Teachers Association


In September 1991, the San Patricio County Retired School Personnel organization was founded. Retired district personnel from Gregory-Portland, Mathis, Odem, Sinton, and Taft were members. Later Aransas Pass and Ingleside retirees were added and the name became San Patricio County Retired Teachers Association. Fred Rotzler was the first president. Perla Guerrero is our current president.

Margaret Simpson and later Dorothy Rotzler were active in starting the collection of “Teddy Bears” for use by police of the county in dealing with traumatized children. It is a continuing practice.

In 1992 the state organization undertook a building fund drive which has resulted in the construction of a TRTA office building in Austin. Fred Rotzler was appointed District II chairman of the Building Fund.

Members purchased a five dollar “brick” toward the fund. As a result of these efforts a ribbon cutting ceremony was held in October 2004 to officially open the Trinity Office Center which houses the TRTA and the Texas Retired Teachers Foundation.

Members’ efforts have resulted in outstanding meeting programs. Volunteer work by the membership is carefully documented monthly and recognition given at the annual awards program and at the TRTA State Convention. Our Founder, Dr. Andrus, was a strong believer in the role of the retired teacher in volunteer work.

In 2002 a scholarship fund was created. These scholarships are presented annually to San Patricio County high school seniors.

An active Legislative Standing Committee has kept the membership informed concerning actions of the Texas Legislature.

Our county TRTA Unit has adopted an annual Christmas gathering as a tradition which all seem to enjoy greatly and look forward to celebrating each year.