Prepare for the May Primary Runoff Elections!

We are starting our Spring Membership Drive! Please show your support by joining or renewing with the ONLY organization that’s advocating for your TRS retirement plan, the Texas Retired Teachers Association!

Members of the Texas Retired Teachers Association (TRTA), the May Primary Runoff Elections are fast approaching!

Your vote in the Primary Runoff Election is even more important now than it was in the regular March Primary! Why? Because most elections in Texas are decided during the primary election cycle. According to the Texas Tribune, only 18% of registered voters cast a ballot in the 2022 primaries. Every election and every single vote matters, and voters have the power!

We cannot stress this enough: Numbers really matter when it comes to elections. Numbers matter even more in a Primary Election, and even greater still during the Primary Runoff Election!

Your vote signifies support for candidates who represent your interests. Like many TRTA members, your interests may include protecting your retirement security and enhancing the benefits you receive.

TRTA does not endorse candidates for political office; however, the issues we have advocate for frequently garner widespread—even unanimous—bipartisan support!

Retired Texas educator issues matter to Texas elected officials! In fact, every single State Senator and Representative in the Texas Legislature voted FOR the bills that provided a cost-of-living adjustment (COLA) and stipend for hundreds of thousands of Teacher Retirement System of Texas (TRS) retirees.

When the 89th Texas Legislature begins in 2025 we must be prepared! The road to influencing future policy outcomes starts NOW. Make your plan to vote in the Primary Runoff Election! Let’s go!

About the Races

Not all Texas State House and Senate Districts will have Primary Runoff Elections, and in those districts, you may find that only one party has a runoff. To determine if there is a runoff in your area, you may visit this link and enter your address.

Please remember that if you voted in a party primary in March, you can vote only in that same party’s runoff. Voters who didn’t cast a ballot in the primary can vote in either party’s runoff.

Early voting begins on May 20 and continues through May 24. Primary Runoff Election Day is May 28.

First Day of Early Voting Monday, May 20, 2024
Last Day to Apply by Mail (Received, not Postmarked) Friday, May 17, 2024
Last Day of Early Voting Friday, May 24, 2024
Last Day to Receive Ballot by Mail Tuesday, May 28, 2024 (Election Day) at 7:00 p.m. if carrier envelope is not postmarked, OR Wednesday, May 29, 2024 (next business day after Election Day) at 5:00 p.m. if carrier envelope is postmarked by 7:00 p.m. at the location of the election on Election Day (unless overseas or military voter deadlines apply)4

Voting by Mail

  • Get information about voting by mail at this link
  • Download an application to vote by mail here

Texas State House Races

District 1

  • Gary VanDeaver, Incumbent
  • Chris Spencer

District 12

  • Ben Bius
  • Trey Wharton

Note: The incumbent in this district is Republican State Rep. Kyle Kacal who is not seeking reelection in 2024.

District 21

  • Dade Phelan, incumbent
  • David Covey

District 29

  • Jeffrey Barry
  • Alex Kamkar

Note: The incumbent in this district is Republican State Rep. Ed Thompson, who is not seeking reelection in 2024.

District 30

  • Jeff Bauknight
  • A.J. Louderback

Note: The incumbent in this district is Republican State Rep. Geanie W. Morrison who is not seeking reelection in 2024.

District 33

  • Justin Holland, Incumbent
  • Katrina Pierson

District 37

  • Ruben Cortez, Jr.
  • Jonathan Gracia

District 44

  • John Kuempel, Incumbent
  • Alan Schoolcraft

District 58

  • DeWayne Burns, Incumbent
  • Helen Kerwin

District 61

  • Frederick Frazier, Incumbent
  • Keresa Richardson

District 64

  • Lynn Stucky, Incumbent
  • Andy Hopper

District 76

  • Summara Kanwal
  • Lea C.S. Simmons

District 77

  • Norma Chávez
  • Vince Perez

Note: The incumbent in this district is Democratic State Rep. Lina Ortega who is not seeking reelection in 2024.

District 80

  • Cecelia Castellano
  • Rosie Cuellar

Note: The incumbent in this district is Democratic State Rep. Tracy King who is not seeking reelection in 2024.

District 91

  • Stephanie Klick, Incumbent
  • David Lowe

District 97

  • Diane Symons
  • Carlos Walker


  • Cheryl Bean
  • John McQueeney

Note: The incumbent in this district is Republican State Rep. Craig Goldman, who is running for a U.S. House District 12 to replace retiring U.S. Rep. Kay Granger.

District 139

  • Angeanette Thibodeaux
  • Charlene Ward Johnson

Note: The incumbent in this district is Democratic State Rep. Jarvis D. Johnson, who is running for Texas Senate District 15 to replace former State Sen. John Whitmire, who is now the mayor of Houston.

District 146

  • Shawn Nicole Thierry, Incumbent
  • Lauren Ashley Simmons

Texas State Senate Races

District 15

  • Molly Cook
  • Jarvis D. Johnson

Note: This district was previously represented by former Democratic State Sen. John Whitmire who was elected Houston mayor in 2023. Molly Cook won a special election on May 4 which determined who will finish Whitmire’s Senate term. The Primary Runoff will determine who will represent District 15 in the Senate for the upcoming term.

District 30

  • Michael Braxton
  • Dale Frey


  • Brent Hagenbuch
  • Jace Yarbrough

Note: The incumbent in this district is Republican State Sen. Drew Springer who is not seeking reelection in 2024.


Thank you for being a member of TRTA. We are asking members to please renew their dues with TRTA if they have not done so already. If you know someone who is not a member, please invite them to join us! There is strength in numbers and the surest way for us to accomplish success is to grow the organization.

Related News