Special Election for Senate District 28 Tomorrow!

Tomorrow (September 9) is the special election to fill the seat being vacated by Senator Robert Duncan in Senate District 28. Many TRTA members are quite familiar with Senator Duncan and his work to improve and protect retirement benefits for Texas public educators. Last session, Senator Duncan authored Senate Bill 1458, which provided the first permanent cost-of-living increase for 200,000 retirees since 2001.

Members, we cannot stress enough how important it is that you vote in this election if you live in Senate District 28 (includes areas such as Lubbock, San Angelo, Snyder and Plainview). Make a plan now to vote tomorrow if you did not vote early!

Consider carpooling with your fellow retirees or friends and family members. Please remember that tomorrow, you must vote at your assigned precinct. Contact your County Elections Office if you do not know where your polling location is.

Several candidates are vying to fill Duncan’s seat. They are: Jodey Arrington, Republican; E.M. Garza, Republican; Delwin Jones, Republican; Kerry Douglas McKennon, Libertarian; Charles Perry, Republican; and Greg Wortham, Democrat.

Many of our members have requested that we provide contact information for the Senate District 28 candidates. If you live in SD 28, please consider contacting the candidates and asking them questions about their support of the Teacher Retirement System (TRS) defined benefit plan and the TRS-Care retiree health insurance program.

Several local units in Senate District 28 have reached out to the candidates already and asked them to respond to surveys about TRS and TRS-Care. If you have questions about the candidates and are unable to get in touch with their campaign office staff, please reach out to your local unit leaders. You can find contact information for local units on our web page (TRTA Near You).

If a candidate asks you for more information, feel free to provide them with the TRS-Care Fact Sheet found in the most recent issue of The VOICE or have them contact TRTA at info@trta.orgor 1.800.880.1650.

Candidate Contact Information (candidates are listed in alphabetical order):

Jodey Arrington
4407 13th Street
Lubbock, Texas 79416

E. M. Garza
303 North 7th Street
Wolfforth, Texas 79382

Delwin Jones
2129 54th Street
Lubbock, Texas 79412

Kerry Douglas McKennon
2101 Avenue D
Petersburg, Texas 79250

Charles Perry
4007 109th Street
Lubbock, Texas 79432

Greg Wortham
311 E. Avenue C
Sweetwater, Texas 79556

Thank You and New Video!

TRTA local units are meeting now! Find a local unit near you if you want to get involved at the grassroots level and start protecting TRS-Care. Learn more about our 259 local units by visiting this link.

TRTA Executive Director Tim Lee has been speaking at numerous local events and will continue to do so throughout the fall. Don’t miss your chance to hear from him!

Just last week, Tim attended the Waco-McLennan County RTA meeting and provided a rousing speech to the 112 attendees. Hear what Tim had to say by watching this video.

Feel free to share the video with your fellow retirees and with active educators, who will be impacted by any changes made the program upon their retirement.

Thank you for being a member of TRTA! Remember, you are a valued member of our organization, and your vote is valuable! Use your power and vote!

If you are not a member of TRTA and want more information about joining, please contact us at 1.800.880.1650. Follow us on Facebook! Visit our YouTube channel for regular video updates!

Related News