E.L. Galyean Award Recipient Mary Ann Dolezal

TRTA is pleased to announce the 2023 E.L. Galyean Award recipient Mary Ann Dolezal of TRTA District 4. This award recognizes a TRTA member for outstanding and unusual service on the state level to TRTA and its members. The award also serves as a constant reminder of the distinctive quality of committed service rendered by Mr. E. L. Galyean, TRTA’s first Executive Director (1980-1992).

Rosalind Haynes, District 4 President, says of Mary Ann “her ambitions and accomplishments complement precisely the stellar community of past recipients. Her impressive record of dedication to TRTA members makes her highly deserving of the honor.” Rosalind adds, “Mary Ann projects a warm, cheerful attitude to everyone she meets. She is dependable and efficient regardless of the task before her. She loves people, works hard, and always tries to lift the spirits of those around her.”

During the trying years, 2020–2022, Mary Ann served as President of District 4, helping her members navigate through the transitionary period of the COVID-19 pandemic. “A powerful bond was established between officers and local chapters through frequent Zoom meetings, including the Fall and Spring Conferences,” thanks to Mary Ann, according to Rosalind.

Mary Ann’s commitment to TRTA began in 2004 when she first joined the organization. A member of the local chapter Fort Bend Harris Retired Educators, she served as First Vice-President from 2006-2007 and 2015-2018, as President from 2008-2011 and 2018-2020, and as Legislative Chair from 2022-2024.

At the district level, Mary Ann served on the Healthy Living Committee (2011-2016), as First Vice-President (2016-2018), as Secretary (2018-2020), and as President (2020-2022).

At the state level, Mary Ann served on the Healthy Living Committee from 2012-2016, serving as Chair between 2014-2016. She also served on the Public Relations Committee between 2016 and 2020 and as State Historian 2020-2022. She helped to coordinate the Texas Retired Teachers Foundation Silent Auction at the TRTA State Convention in Dallas in April 2022.

Outside of TRTA, Mary Ann has been involved with the Delta Kappa Gamma Society International since 1985, serving as Area Coordinator from 2007 to 2009, and as DKG Chapter President from 2002-2006. Her hobbies include choir and handbells for Christ United Methodist Church, and participating in Sugar Sisters where she helps to entertain Fort Bend County seniors. She has volunteered for Meals on Wheels since 2012, among many other activities including volunteering in local schools.

Congratulations to Mary Ann on her many great accomplishments! Her dedication to TRTA and her community exemplify the true meaning of service and the heart of volunteerism.

Related News