Texas Legislature Senate Committees Named

On Jan. 15, Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick named the Senate committees. Key committees for Teacher Retirement System of Texas (TRS) issues are the Senate Finance, Senate State Affairs, and Senate Education committees. The Senate also adopted rules for the legislative session. A new rule will require an 18-vote threshold for bringing a bill to the Senate floor.

The Senate Finance and State Affairs committee work closely together to ensure that policy changes and funding changes complement each other as session progresses. The Senate Finance committee will again be chaired by Senator Jane Nelson (R – Flower Mound), who along with Senators Eddie Lucio (D – Brownsville) and Charles Schwertner (R – Georgetown) also serve on Senate State affairs.

The Senate State Affairs committee will be chaired by Senator Bryan Hughes (R – Mineola). Hughes moved into this position after the last session as Senator Joan Huffman (R – Houston) was named to lead the Senate Redistricting process through the interim. The Texas Retired Teachers Association (TRTA) is looking forward to working with both Chairs Hughes and Nelson, as well as all the committee members, to advance our priorities and the TRS Sunset bill.

A full list of the committee assignments is available here.

Thank You

Stay tuned to the Inside Line for additional information as we dive more deeply into the 87th Legislative Session. You can also download the TRTA app to receive all of the latest updates and communicate with your fellow retirees.

Related News